Representative Bradley Byrne

Representing the 1st District of Alabama

Byrne Leads Colleagues in Urging Rollback of Flawed Labor Policies


Apr 6, 2017
Press Release

Congressman Bradley Byrne (R-AL), Chairman of the House Workforce Protections Subcommittee, led 46 of his colleagues in sending a letter to the House Appropriations Committee urging a rollback of flawed decisions by the National Labor Regulations Board (NLRB).

Byrne said: “Recent decisions by the National Labor Relations Board have fundamentally altered long standing labor policy in our country and made it harder for workers to advance. It is critical that we use the annual government funding bills to advance commonsense policy ideas that help rollback overreach and instead empower American workers. We need more fairness and certainty in the workplace, not less.”

Congressman Byrne’s letter encourages the Appropriations Committee to address three particular labor issues:

  • Joint Employer Standard: The NLRB overturned the traditional definition of joint employer to include those who have “indirect” and “potential” control over conditions and terms of employment.
  • Ambush Elections: This NLRB decision dramatically shortens the time between the filing of a certification petition and the conduct of an NLRB secret ballot election thereby “ambushing” employees and restricting an employer’s ability to provide employees with the time and resources required to formulate an educated decision prior to a union election.
  • Micro-Unions: Through an NLRB decision, micro-unions are propped up through a union’s newfound capacity to solicit an individual department or work shift to organize.

The letter was signed by Congressmen Allen (GA), Barletta (PA), Barr (KY), Brady (TX), Brat (VA), Carter (GA), Collins (GA), Comer (KY), Comstock (VA), Cramer (ND), Crawford (AR),  Jeff Duncan (SC), Ferguson (GA), Flores (TX), Franks (AZ), Goodlatte (VA), Gosar (AZ), Grothman (WI), Hensarling (TX), Hice (GA), Hudson (NC), Knight (CA), LaHood (IL),  Lewis (MN), Loudermilk (GA), McClintock (CA), McSally (AZ), Mitchell (MI), Palmer (AL), Perry (PA), Roe (TN), Mike Rogers (AL), Rokita (IN), Francis Rooney (FL), Rouzer (NC), Austin Scott (GA), Adrian Smith (NE), Jason Smith (MO), Smucker (PA), Glenn Thompson (PA), Tipton (CO), Walorski (IN), Walters (CA), Wenstrup (OH), Joe Wilson (SC), and Woodall (GA).